Kagiso Rabada  took hat-trick on his One-Day International debut as he sent Tamim Iqbal, Litton Das and Mahmudullah packing in the first of the three-match series against South Africa on Friday at Dhaka.

Tamim went for a duck despite playing 13 balls and Litton Das went for a golden duck. Rabada was on hat-trick as Mahmudullah walked out to bat. However, he was trapped leg before and Mahmudullah had to walk back. He is the second bowler to complete hat-trick on ODI debut. Taijul Islam was the other cricketer to achieve such a feat.

Here’s a table of bowlers taking hat-trick on debut:

Bowler Format Team Against Wicket 1 Wicket 2 Wicket 3 Venue Season
Maurice Allom Test Eng NZ Tom Lowry (LBW) Ken James (c Tich Cornford) Ted Badcock (bowled) Christchurch 1929-30
Peter Petherick Test NZ Pak Javed Miandad (c Richard Hadlee) Wasim Raja (c & b) Intikhab Alam (c Geoff Howarth) Lahore 1976-77
Damien Fleming Test Pak Aus Aamer Malik (c Michael Bevan) Inzamam-ul-Haq (LBW) Saleem Malik (c Ian Healy) Rawalpindi 1994-95
Taijul Islam ODI Ban Zim Tinashe Panyangara (bowled) John Nyumbu (LBW) Tendai Chatara (bowled) Dhaka 2014-15
Kagiso Rabada  ODI SA BAN Tamim Iqbal (bowled) Litton Das (c Farhaan Behardien) Mahmudullah (lbw) Dhaka 2014-15
Note: Allom took four wickets in five balls: he bowled Stewie Dempster; Lowry lasted two balls, after which the hattrick followed.

Earlier, Bangladesh won toss and elected to bat as the start of the match was delayed by rain. The match was curtailed to 40 overs per side.

Last year, Taijul Islam created record when he became the only fourth bowler in cricket history to register a hat-trick in debut match in international cricket. Taijul also became the first bowler in One-Day International (ODI) history to achieve this feat.

Taijul claimed four for 11 off his seven overs to help Bangladesh bundle out Zimbabwe for a paltry 128 in the fifth and final ODI at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. Taijul returned with the figures of 7-2-11-4 after the hosts were asked to bowl first.

England’s Maurice Allom, New Zealand’s Peter Petherick and Australian pacer Damien Fleming are the only bowlers to have achieved this feat in international cricket. All three bowlers recorded their achievements in Test cricket.