Bangladesh host South Africa for second of the three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) at Dhaka. After losing the first match at the same venue, Bangladesh will hope to make things right and level the series on Sunday. Scorecard: Bangladesh vs South Africa 2015, 2nd ODI at Dhaka

After two terrific ODI series against Pakistan and India, Bangladesh were whitewashed in the Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) by South Africa. In the rain-curtailed 40-over first ODI, South Africa rode on a tremendous debutant performance from Kagiso Rabada to bowl Bangladesh out for a low total of 160. Bangladesh could never recover from that position, as South Africa returned to achieve the target and beat the hosts by eight wickets.

For Bangladesh, the main worry has been the poor performance at the top-order. While Soumya Sarkar has shown glimpses of good batting, Tamim Iqbal has failed throughout the South African visit. Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim have provided some strength in the middle but they have not been able to convert the partnership into a big score. The rest of the batting order has failed for Bangladesh. READ: Shakib Al Hasan must step up to help Bangladesh be consistent

For South Africa, Quinton de Kock has got a long rope, first in T20Is and now again in the first ODI. However, if he fails to put on a big show the next time around, South Africa may have to look beyond him. Rilee Rossouw’s success in the Indian subcontinent has been a ray of hope, while Faf du Plessis has strengthened South Africa’s innings. South Africa need their other batsmen to succeed as well, in the absence of their mainstay AB de Villiers.

Bangladesh’s bowling has not been as impressive as it was against India and Pakistan. Mustafizur Rahman has been unable to emulate his performances against India in the current series, while none of the other bowlers have made any impact whatsoever. South Africa, on the other hand, took a risk when they played Rabada instead of the experienced Morne Morkel in the first ODI, and the debutant paid back the favour richly. READ: Bangladesh await their biggest test at home against South Africa

With two more ODIs to go, Bangladesh will be hoping to win the next encounter on Sunday and level the series. Bangladesh desperately need to win the remaining ODIs if they want to qualify for ICC Champions Trophy 2017. READ: Bangladesh or Pakistan: Who will qualify for ICC Champions Trophy 2017?


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Litton Das (wk), Arafat Sunny, Jubair Hossain, Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman.

South Africa: Hashim Amla (c), Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Farhaan Behardien, Kyle Abbott, Morne Morkel, Eddie Leie, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren.

Time: 15.00 local | 0900 GMT | 14.30 IST

(Sudatta Mukherjee is a reporter with CricketCountry. Other than writing on cricket, she spends penning random thoughts on her blog. When she is not writing, you will catch her at a movie theatre or watching some English televison show on her laptop. Her Twitter handle is @blackrosegal)