Kusal Perera's replacement will be announced on Friday    Getty Images
Kusal Perera’s replacement will be announced on Friday Getty Images

Colombo: Sri Lanka wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera has been ruled out of the first two ODIs of the four-match series against Bangladesh due to a hamstring injury. Confirming the news, Sri Lanka’s cricket manager Asanka Gurusinha said that the 26-year-old sustained the hamstring strain during today’s warm-up match in Colombo. Gurusinha further revealed that the strain to his left thigh is a `very minor` one and, therefore, it is likely that he might get fit enough to play in the second ODI in Dambulla on March 28. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) are now expected to name Perara s replacement on Thursday or Friday, ESPNcricinfo reported. Full Cricket Scorecard: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI at Rangiri

However, Kusal would rejoin the squad ahead of the third ODI at the SSC on April 1, provided he recovers as expected. Sri Lanka will be once again without their regular skipper and Upul Tharanga will take the responsibility ahead. Mathews, who returned home in January halfway through the South African tour after twisting his ankle, was left out from the Test squad. Tharanga became Sri Lanka s captain, the 19th in ODIs for the country, for the first as they played the Zimbabwe tri-series with West Indies joining in. In the absence of an injured Mathews, Tharanga led the side to a comfortable win in his first match as captain and later led the side to win the final and the series as well.

His outing as an ODI captain in South Africa was a major disappointment as Sri Lanka were whitewashed 5-0 in the series. However, he captained the side in the 2-1 victory in Australia in the Twenty20 International (T20I) series that followed.

Sri Lanka will play their first ODI against Bangladesh at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Dambulla, on Saturday.

Sri Lanka squad: Upul Tharanga (c), Niroshan Dikwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Kusal Perera, Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vikum Sanjaya Bandara, Thisara Perera, Sachitra Pathirana, Seekkuge Prasanna and Lakshan Sandakan.