Bangladesh-vs--zimbabwe-3rd-odi-previewA deceived Zimbabwe team face the Bangladesh team for the third and final time in the One-Day International (ODI) series at Mirpur on Wednesday. Bangladesh, who came winning consecutive ODI series with Pakistan, India and South Africa, started the ODI series against Zimbabwe with yet another win. The second ODI came as a do or die for the visitors as they had to win the match in order to stay alive in the series. But the hosts dominated and sealed the series 2-0. LIVE SCORECARD: Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe , 3rd ODI at Mirpur

Winning the toss, Zimbabwe skipper Elton Chigumbura sent the Bangladesh team to bat first. The hosts opened their innings with Tamim Iqbal and Imrul Kayes. Iqbal failed to provide the required support and left early making only 19 runs while No. 3 batsman Liton Das also got dismissed for 7. Bangladesh’s wickets kept falling in regular intervals as Mahmudullah also could not make much difference. Zimbabwe bowlers looked good as they had been successful in attacking and getting back –to-back breakthroughs. The only batman who spent time in the crease and looked good for a big innings was Imrul Kayes. Mushfiqur Rahim, the hero from the first ODI came into bat and was the first batsman supported Kayes, which was most required at that stage. The next two batsmen, Sabbir Rahman and Nasir Hossain contributed with their little cameos. Sabbir added 33 runs while Hossain went back after scoring 41 as Bangladesh put up a final total of 241. Imrul Kayes scored 76 runs off 89 balls, the innings included six fours and four sixes.

Amongst the Zimbabwe bowlers, the most successful has been Tinashe Panyangara. He took 3 for 41, wickets which included the ones of Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das and Nasir Hossain, while Taurai Muzarabani and Graeme Cremer got a couple of wickets each. LIVE CRICKET UPDATE: BANGLADESH vs ZIMBABWE, 3rd ODI at Mirpur

Chasing down the target put up by the hosts, Zimbabwe batsmen failed miserably as no one could reach the 50-run mark. Both the openers left the crease quickly. The only batsman to go close to 50 runs was Elton Chigumbura. The Zimbabwe skipper scored 47 and remained at the crease till the end but failed to see his country home. Sikandar Raza scored 33 which was the second highest score for their side. Bangladesh bowlers did a great job as they restricted the visitors for 183. Mustafizur Rahman took three wickets while Al-Amin Hossain and Nasir Hossain took a couple apiece to guide their side to a victory by 58 runs. Bangladesh, with that win, wrapped the series and will look for a clear 3-0 while Zimbabwe will look forward for a win to restore their reputation.

Time: 13:00 local | 07:00 GMT | 12:30 IST


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Imrul Kayes, Jubair Hossain, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Anamul Haque, Tamim Iqbal

Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (c), Regis Chakabva (wk), Chamu Chibhabha, Tendai Chisoro, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Neville Madziva, Wellington Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams

(Paulami Chakraborty, a singer, dancer, artist, and photographer, loves the madness of cricket and writes about the game. She can be followed on Twitter at @Polotwitts)