Perth Scorchers were the winners of BBL 06    Getty Images
Perth Scorchers were the winners of BBL 06 Getty Images

The next edition of Big Bash League (BBL) has been expanded and will have 8 more matches than previous season, announced Cricket Australia (CA). The 2017-18 season of BBL will start with Women s Big Bash League (WBBL) on December 9. The men s games will start after 10 days, with Sydney Thunders hosting the Sydney Sixers. However, the finals of both men s and women s matches will be held on February 4. A total of 43 matches will be played in BBL this season, with each team playing 10 matches, one home and one away match with their opponents. Gary Kirsten to coach Hobart Hurricanes for 2 BBL seasons

CA Executive General Manager of Events and Leagues Anthony Everard told The eight additional BBL matches for this season have been scheduled to complement the existing regular season fixture, take the BBL and WBBL to more locations, and encourage more people to give cricket a go.

The opportunity to take matches to markets such as Launceston is particularly exciting as it represents the growing popularity of the Big Bash nationwide, and we are hopeful of extending the BBL s footprint even further this season in partnership with the Thunder, Strikers and Renegades, who remain in discussions to take matches to new markets.

Both the BBL and WBBL are firm family favourites during the summer school holidays, and with even more matches we hope fans will continue to vote with their feet, support their club, and help us surpass last year’s attendance, which exceeded one million for the second consecutive season.