BCCI selectors to pick India’s Asia Cup squad on September 1
The MSK Prasad-led BCCI selection committee will meet on Saturday. @Getty

The Indian squad for the 2018 Asia Cup, to be held in the UAE from September 15-28, will be named on Saturday, September 1 in Mumbai.

The BCCI announced today that the senior selection committee comprising chairman of selectors MSK Prasad, Sarandeep Singh and Devang Gandhi – all former Test cricketers – will meet inside the corridors of the BCCI headquarters at the Wankhede Stadium to select the team.

India and Pakistan are placed in Group A along with a qualifier while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are in Group B. The one qualifier spot is yet to be decided amongst UAE, Singapore, Oman, Nepal, Malaysia and Hong Kong.

The competition is scheduled to start from September 15 with Bangladesh locking horns with Sri Lanka in the opening match. India and Pakistan will face each other on September 19. The last the two teams met was in Champions Trophy final 2017 which Pakistan won

The previous Asia Cup was a Twenty20 format tournament held in Bangladesh in 2016. The Indian team, under MS Dhoni, won the title.