Bengal defeats Karnataka, enters finals of Ranji Trophy for first time in 13 years
Image: Twitter

Bengal defeated Karnataka by 174 runs in the semi-final on Tuesday to enter the finals of the Ranji Trophy for the first time in 13 years.

Bengal had reached the finals during 2006/07, but they came up short against Mumbai. Now, Bengal would be looking to win the tournament for the first time since the 1989-90 season.

With a target of 352, Karnataka batsmen failed to stay at the crease for a long time and were dismissed for just 177. Karnataka’s entire innings folded up inside 56 overs on the fourth day of the semi-final.

In the second innings, Mukesh Kumar starred with the ball for Bengal as he scalped six wickets.

Karnataka’s star batter KL Rahul managed to score just 26 runs in the match.

Bengal was on the back foot in the first innings of the match as the side was reduced to 67/6 on the first day of the match. However, AP Majumdar played an unbeaten knock of 149 runs to take Bengal’s score to 312 runs.

Then Ishan Porel starred with the ball for Bengal as he scalped five wickets and allowed the side to take a lead of 190 runs.

In the second innings, Bengal folded up for just 161 runs but managed to give a healthy target to Karnataka.