Chennai Super Kings restricted Delhi Daredevils to 84 © IANS
Chennai Super Kings restricted Delhi Daredevils to 84 © IANS


By Shrikant Shankar


Apr 21, 2014


Chennai Super Kings (CSK) trounced Delhi Daredevils (DD) by 93 runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 on April 21. Dinesh Karthik scored 21 and Jimmy Neesham scored 22. Delhi only lost nine wickets but Nathan Coulter-Nile could not bat as he had suffered an injury during Chennai’s innings. Ishwar Pandey and Ravichandran Ashwin took two wickets each. It was a comprehensive victory for Chennai after their opening loss in IPL 7. Delhi have now lost two matches and won one from three.


Murali Vijay and Mayank Agarwal began the run-chase for Delhi. Ishwar Pandey began proceedings for Chennai. It has to be mentioned that this was the first time Pandey had probably bowled under Dhoni. Vijay got the first boundary with a lofted cover drive for four. Ben Hilfenhaus made it two fast bowlers to bowl in the beginning of the innings.


Pandey got the breakthrough as Agarwal was dismissed for two runs. He played an inside-out shot but did not get any timing and Suresh Raina took a splendid catch running from cover. New batsman Dinesh Karthik then edged one, but Ravichandran Ashwin at first slip was a little wide and could not take the catch.


Mohit Sharma bowled the fourth over and his first ball was full on the stumps. Vijay flicked it towards deep square-leg for a four. Two deliveries later, Vijay hit one in the air, but he too did not get much distance. Faf du Plessis ran backwards from mid-off and took a stunning catch. He fell awkwardly, but was fine. He was up and ready as he took an even better catch to dismiss Manoj Tiwary. He ran backwards and from cover and took the catch airborne. Pandey had got his second wicket.


After a few overs of low-scoring, Karthik came forward and played a cut shot to a wide delivery from Pandey and got a four behind point. Looking at the increasing run-rate, MS Dhoni brought Dwayne Smith into the attack. He pitched one on leg-stump and the ball moved slightly away and struck Duminy on the pads. The players appealed and the umpire raised his finger almost immediately. Duminy was out for 15 runs.


Hilfenhaus was brought back into the attack in the 10th over. His first delivery was a full-toss and Ross Taylor flicked it away for a four towards fine-leg. That brought up the 50 for Delhi. The next delivery was full and outside off-stump and Taylor edged it to Dhoni behind the wickets.


Karthik guided a wide delivery from Smith through the vacant slip region for a four in the 11th over. Ravindra Jadeja was brought into the attack only in the 12th over. Left-handed Neesham swung at a length delivery and got a four over mid-wicket. Ashwin bowled his first over after that. He came from round the wicket and his length delivery evaded Karthik’s bat and struck the stumps. Karthik was dismissed for 21 off 22 deliveries.


The wickets just kept falling quickly from hereon. Jadeja got the wicket of Neesham’s wicket in the 14th over. The New Zealand all-rounder slogged one towards deep mid-wicket and straight to Raina at the boundary. Mohammed Shami then fell Ashwin for one run. Shahbaz Nadeem was the ninth wicket to fall as he gave a catch to Raina at cover off Jadeja. Coulter-Nile was unavailable to bat and Chennai had won the match at 15.4 overs.


Earlier, Chennai captain Dhoni had won the toss and elected to bat. After a moderate start, Chennai raced to a competitive 177 for seven in their 20 overs. Raina top-scored with 56 off 41 deliveries. He struck five fours and one six. Dhoni smashed a 15-ball 32 with two fours and two sixes. Dwayne Smith scored 29 and Faf du Plessis scored 24.


Jaydev Unadkat was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets for 32 runs. The target for Delhi always looked a challenge as they were without Kevin Pietersen due to his finger injury. In the end, it proved too big a total for Delhi as they slumped to their second defeat in the IPL 2014. Raina was adjudged as the Man of the Match.


Brief scores:


Chennai Super Kings 177 for 7 in 20 overs (Dwayne Smith 29, Suresh Raina 56, Faf du Plessis 24, MS Dhoni 32; Jaydev Unadkat 3 for 32) beat Delhi Daredevils 84 for 9 in 15.4 overs (Dinesh Karthik 21, Jimmy Neesham 22; Ishwar Pandey 2 for 23, Ravichandran Ashwin 2 for 3, Ravindra Jadeja 2 for 18) by 93 runs.


Man of the Match: Suresh Raina


Full Scorecard


Photo Gallery


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage


(Shrikant Shankar is a writer/reporter at Previously he has done audio commentary for various matches involving India, Indian Premier League and Champions League Twenty20 for You can follow him on Twitter @Shrikant_23