Cheteshwar Pujara © IANS
Cheteshwar Pujara © IANS

Oct 4, 2014

Cheteshwar Pujara has been named captain of the West Zone team for the Duleep Trophy. The side is a very strong unit and features international players such as Parthiv Patel, Akshar Patel, Yusuf Pathan and Dhawal Kulkarni. Then, India A players such as Suryakumar Yadav, Vijay Zol, Jasprit Bumrah, Akshay Darekar and Harshad Khadiwale are also a part of the side. This team will face East Zone from October 15 to 18 at Lahli. Following that game, the winner will move to the semi-final to play South Zone, a match which will take place from October 22 to 25.

If they go into the final, they may miss Pujara as that match is scheduled to begin on October 19. That would clash with the first Test between India and West Indies at Hyderabad. Nevetherless, it is a very strong side. Khadiwale scored over a 1,000 runs during the Ranji Trophy last year. Zol impressed in the opportunities he got. Ankit Bawne was also very impressive, scoring runs consistently. Bawne was also named in the Rest of India squad. Suryakumar Yadav has been touted to be one of the youngsters to watch out for and he also makes the cut.

The bowling would be led by Kulkarni and he will have Bumrah and Mundhe to partner him. Shardul Thakur is also a good fast bowling option in the side. Darekar and Patel are the two left arm spinners in the team.

West Zone Squad:

Cheteshwar Pujara (c), Harshad Khadiwale, Vijay Zol, Yusuf Pathan, Ankit Bawne, Parthiv Patel (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Aditya Tare (wk), Shardul Thakur, Shrikant Mundhe, Jasprit Bumrah, Saurabh Wakaskar, Akshay Darekar, Akshar Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni.