Chris Gayle    Getty Images
Chris Gayle Getty Images

Chris Gayle on Friday became the highest scorer in the history of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). Gayle scored an unbeaten 126 for Rangpur Riders, during their Eliminator tie against Khulna Titans at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. Riders went on to register a comfortable eight-wicket win and proceeded to the Qualifier 1. Gayle has now surpassed Sabbir Rahman, who secured best score of 122 for Rajshahi Kings against Barisal Bulls in 2016. Gayle also now holds most number of centuries in the tournament (4).

Player Runs Balls Team Against Venue Season National side
Chris Gayle 126* 51 Rangpur Riders Khulna Titans Mirpur 2017 West Indies
Sabbir Rahman 122 61 Rajshahi Kings Barisal Bulls Mirpur 2016 Bangladesh
Chris Gayle 116 61 Barisal Burners Dhaka Gladiators Mirpur 2012 West Indies
Chris Gayle 114 51 Dhaka Gladiators Sylhet Royals Mirpur 2013 West Indies
Ahmed Shehzad 113* 49 Barisal Burners Rajshahi Kings Mirpur 2012 Pakistan
Dwayne Smith 103* 73 Khulna Royal Bengals Sylhet Royals Mirpur 2012 West Indies
Mohammad Ashraful 103* 58 Dhaka Gladiators Khulna Royal Bengals Mirpur 2013 Bangladesh
Shahriar Nafees 102* 69 Khulna Royal Bengals Rajshahi Kings Khulna 2013 Bangladesh
Chris Gayle 101* 44 Barisal Burners Sylhet Royals Mirpur 2012 West Indies
Evin Lewis 101* 65 Barisal Bulls Dhaka Dynamites Chittagong 2015 West Indies

In BPL, Gayle has played for three different franchises. He started playing for Barisal Burners followed by Dhaka Gladiators. He is currently playing for Rangpur Riders captained by Mashrafe Mortaza. Incidentally, Gayle also became the first batsman to hit 800 sixes in his T20 career.