Colin Munro became the first to 3 T20I centuries    Getty Images
Colin Munro became the first to 3 T20I centuries Getty Images

As New Zealand plundered 243 for 5 in the third T20I against West Indies, Colin Munro hit his third T20I century, thus becoming the first cricketer to have achieved the feat. Martin Guptill opened New Zealand’s batting with Munro, building a 136-run first wicket partnership which is the 10th highest of the format. Guptill scored 63, and during the knock surpassed Tillakaratne Dilshan to become the third-highest T20I run-scorer of all-time. Munro went on to score 104, his second T20I century within a span of two months. Munro scored 223 runs from the three-match series, scoring half-centuries in each match.

Player Team Number of centuries
Colin Munro New Zealand 3
Chris Gayle West Indies 2
Evin Lewis West Indies 2
Brendon McCullum New Zealand 2
Rohit Sharma India 2

Munro took 53 deliveries to score the century, hitting 3 fours and 10 sixes during the knock. Munro also became the first player to have hit two T20I centuries at the same venue Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui. Apart from Munro, only Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Brendon McCullum and Rohit Sharma have more than one T20I hundreds. Chasing the huge target, West Indies faltered, losing two wickets in their first over. They were later reduced to 49 for 4 in 4.5 overs.