Corey Anderson © IANS
Corey Anderson © IANS


May 25, 2014


In the 56th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Corey Anderson was going strong at one end but Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma was dismissed after trying to emulate the burly New Zealanders pyrotechnics but was caught in the deep at deep pint off a good running catch. With the balls drying out, Ambati Rayudu hit a brilliant straight drive off the last ball of the 10th over bowled by Dhawal Kulkarni. The over produced 16 runs of the over.


Anderson was relentless and was determined to make this game his own. The next over bowled by James Faulkner was swatted down the ground for another boundary and then a slap through the off-side produced a couple. Throwing caution to the wind, Anderson lived dangerously but Mumbai’s hopes were pinned on him. The pressure was getting to the fielding team too. It was evident with the slight misfields every now and then. The last two balls of the Faulkner over went for a terrific straight six over long-on and a boundary when the burly New Zealand batsman blocked a yorker to hit a boundary. The next over saw Shane Watson being taken to the cleaners by Ambati Rayudu.


Earlier, In a crunch game at the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014, Rajasthan Royals smashed 189 for four against the Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium. Rajasthan’s equation is simple as they have to win to confirm a berth in the playoffs. Whereas, Mumabi have to chase this score down in 14.3 overs. Rohit Sharma had elected to bowl first considering the fact that chasing may be the easier way to go. But, Sanju Samson and Karun Nair’s assault may have put the task beyond their reach.


Catch Live Blog of the IPL 2014 match between Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals


Catch Live Scorecard and ball by ball commentary of the IPL 2014 match between Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage