CPL 2019: Lendl Simmons and Denesh Ramdin star as TKR make it three wins from three
Lendl Simmons hit five fours and as many sixers in his 63. (CPL via Getty Images)

Defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders continued their dominant start to the the 2019 Caribbean Premier League, sealing their third win in a row after Lendl Simmons and Denesh Ramdin starred in a seven-wicket victory over St Lucia Zouks.

Simmons – drafted into the TKR squad as a replacement for New Zealander Colin Munro – clubbed five sixes and five fours in his 39-ball 63, while Ramdin made 50* from 38 to take the team to their target of 168 with 13 deliveries remaining.

Simmons started the chase with a six off Thisara Perera’s second delivery, as 14 came from the first over. The losses of Sunil Narine and Tion Webster did not stop Simmons from continuing to attack the Zouks’ bowling. Fawad Ahmed was hit for three sixes, and a fourth maximum gave Simmons his fifty from 32 deliveries as TKR’s target was reduced to double-figures.

(READ: Pooran, Rutherford and Shepherd star in Warriors’ hat-trick)

After initially playing second fiddle to Simmons, Ramdin opened his shoulders after their stand reached 50. Seventeen runs came off the 11th over of the chase, and even Simmons’ departure for 63 did not effect the chase. Needing 62 from 52 balls, TKR finished the job with Ramdin and Kieron Pollard (26* from 20) hitting a series of boundaries.

Earlier, Zouks were given a strong start by Rahkeem Cornwall who hit 33 off 12 balls. But once he was trapped lbw by Narine, the innings lost steam. Andre Fletcher was bogged down in making 26 off 32 balls, Afghanistan’s Najibullah Zadran was cut off on 26 from 17 balls and Darren Sammy’s 13-ball 16 proved a passing cameo. John Campbell laboured 42 balls for his 43, which was the top score for Zouks in their 167/5.

New Zealand star Jimmy Neesham continued his good CPL run with 2/33 from four overs.

Brief scores: Trinbago Knight Riders 168/3 in 17.5 overs (Simmons 63, Ramdin 50*) beat St Lucia Zouks 167/5 in 20 overs by seven wickets