Cricket Australia releases schedule for Ashes 2013-14

The tour programme includes five Tests, five one-day international series and three Twenty20 internationals © Getty Images

Sydney: May 16, 2013

England will have 33 scheduled international playing days on their Ashes tour to Australia starting in November, Cricket Australia said on Thursday.

The tour programme includes five Tests, a streamlined five one-day international series, three Twenty20 internationals and five other tour games.

The Ashes Test series begins at Brisbane’s Gabba ground on November 21 with further Tests in Adelaide (December 5-9), Perth (December 13-17), Melbourne (December 26-30) and the final one in Sydney (January 3-7).

After the Test series there will be five ODIs in Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Perth and Adelaide with three T20 internationals in Hobart, Melbourne and Sydney.

“We are pleased to confirm the full 2013-14 international schedule, which includes 33 days of international cricket and five tour matches,” Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland said.

Sutherland said tickets for the international matches would go on sale on July 1 and, based on historic experience, were expected to sell fast.

“We encourage our Australian-based fans to get priority access to tickets when they are released mid-year,” he said.

“We’ve got no doubt there will also be a lot of fans from the UK and abroad who will make the trek Down Under to follow all the summer’s action.”

CA said it expected the series to again attract large numbers of British visitors after Australia’s tourism economy was boosted by more than Aus$300 million ($300 million) on the last Ashes tour in Sydney in 2010-11.

England won the last Ashes series 3-1 and will defend the urn against Michael Clarke’s Australians at home in July-August, quickly followed by the series in Australia later in the year.