West Indies win toss and opt to bat first vs Afghanistan

West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and elected to bat first against Afghanistan in Match 42 of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at Headingley, Leeds on Thursday.

Both teams are eliminated from the race for semi-finals and is the final league game for them. West Indies have made two changes in the playing XI, with Evin Lewis coming in for Sunil Ambris and Kemar Roach finding a spot in place of Shannon Gabriel.


For Afghanistan, Hashmtullah Shahidi and Hamid Hassan have been dropped and in comes Dawlat Zadran and Sayed Shirzad are playing.


West Indies (Playing XI): Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope(w), Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Jason Holder(c), Carlos Brathwaite, Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Kemar Roach

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Rahmat Shah, Gulbadin Naib(c), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shinwari, Najibullah Zadran, Ikram Ali Khil(w), Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Sayed Shirzad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Gulbadin Naib: I would have wanted to bat first as well. It gets good for the spinners later on. We played really well in the last few games. We will try to play hard. We ahve two changes. Hamid Hassan and Shahidi are not playing. Dawlat Zadran and Shirzad are playing.

Jason Holder: We are gonna bat first. Seems to be a pretty good wicket. It tends to slow down as the game goes on. Just look at this game and try to finish the competition well. We have one last oppurtunity and need to get a perfect game together. Two changes for us. Evin Lewis and Kemar Roach come in for and Sunil Ambris and Shannon Gabriel.