Cricket World Cup 2019 – Miller, Morris in as South Africa opt to field against Bangladesh
Chris Morris (R) has been added as an extra seamer (AFP Photo)

South Africa have opted to field against Bangladesh in their second match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 as they look to relaunch their campaign that began with a crushing defeat the hands of host England in tournament opener.

Bright sunshine greeted the two captains at London’s Kennington Oval and it was Faf du Plessis, the South African captain, who called correctly at the coin toss and hoped his seamers to make an impact in the early part of the innings. To maximise that, the Proteas opted for an extra seamer in allrounder Chris Morris replacing Dwaine Pretorious. They have been forced to make another change in Hashim Amla who copped a blow to his helmet against England and hasn’t been passed fully fit to take the field again. He has been replaced by the big-hitting David Miller.

“(We’re ) Playing an extra seamer today, and we would like to attack the Bangladeshis in the first 15 overs,” Du Plessis said at the toss. “Important to take the learnings from the previous game. We did really well to restrict the strong England line-up to 300ish, and were one partnership away from a really close chase.”

He added, “… as I said we are trying to take advantage of the bounce on the wicket. You have to remind yourself to stay calm, and start determined. We weren’t the favourites in the first game, and today is a good opportunity to put forward a solid performance.”

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza, on the other hand, said they are playing their best XI with no injury concern plaguing them. “We are confident. We had a good preparation. South Africa losing against England doesn’t matter, it doesn’t really give us much. We have to play hard. It was a used wicket, and it really depends how we bat on this wicket,” Mortaza said as Bangladesh begin their campaign.

Playing XIs

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mustafizur Rahman

South Africa: Quinton de Kock(w), Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis(c), Rassie van der Dussen, Jean-Paul Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir