Cricket World Cup 2019, NZ vs PAK: Unchanged New Zealand opt to bat first vs Pakistan

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat first against Pakistan in Match 33 of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at Edgbaston, Birmingham on Wednesday after the toss was delayed for an hour.


Overnight rain had left the outfield wet, which delayed the scheduled 10:30 am (0930 GMT) start by an hour but the umpires decided the match would remain at 50 overs per side.

New Zealand, who are second on the 10-team table with 11 points, kept the same team for the fifth match in a row.

Pakistan, who are seventh in the table with five points, also kept faith with the team that beat South Africa at Lord’s on Sunday.

If New Zealand win they will join title holders Australia in the semi-finals.

“The cloud is going to hang about a bit and it’s cold. There might be a bit of swing but we’ll have a bat,” said Williamson.

“There was consideration to making some changes but we’ve kept it the same again. This is always a tough game. Pakistan are a very strong side but we are looking to build on our displays.

“Naturally the support that Pakistan have gives a great atmosphere, we are looking forward to it. Every game has similar feelings riding on it — we are looking to play the cricket we want.”


Pakistan (Playing XI): Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Haris Sohail, Sarfaraz Ahmed(w/c), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult