Cricket World Cup: Minus Nicholls and Southee, New Zealand bowl against Sri Lanka
New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss in Cardiff and opted to field. (Image: Twitter)

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson has won the toss and chosen to field against Sri Lanka in game three of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at Cardiff on Saturday.

New Zealand are without Tim Southee, who is not fully fit, and benched Ish Sodhi for another pace bowler in Matt Henry. Henry Nicholls also did not recover in time, which means that Colin Munro opens with Martin Guptill.

Sri Lanka have included four seam bowlers. Jeevan Mendis plays as the specialist spinner.


Sri Lanka: 1 Lahiru Thirimanne, 2 Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), 3 Kusal Perera (wk), 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Dhananjaya de Silva, 7 Thisara Perera, 8 Jeevan Mendis, 9 Isuru Udana, 9 Suranga Lakmal, 10 11 Lasith Malinga

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Matt Henry, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult