CSK vs MI live, Powerplay update: Chennai Super Kings bowlers keep Mumbai Indians under check

After Chennai Super Kings captain Suresh Raina won the toss and elected to bowl first against Mumbai Indians without MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja, the opening bowlers Deepak Chahar and Harbhajan Singh managed to keep MI under check in the first six overs in Match 44 of IPL 2019 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on Friday.

Even though Quinton de Kock was off the block early with a six off Chahar, he was undone by a slower one and was caught by the make shift wicketkeeper Ambati Rayudu for 15 of nine balls. Harbhajan Singh sent down a tidy two overs conceding just five runs while Chahar’s third was taken for two fours by Evin Lewis and one from Rohit. 16 runs came off it, but Harbhajan managed to finish off the powerplay with four-run over.

Mumbai Indians reached 45/1 with Rohit on 17 off 14 balls and Lewis on 12 off 13 balls.

Earlier, Raina won the toss and elected to bowl first, but the big news was that there is no MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja ,both down with fever. Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay and Mitchell Santner come in. Third player to miss out is Faf du Plessis.

Two changes for Mumbai Indians as well as former U19 star Ankul Roy gets his Mumbai debut and West Indian Evin Lewis comes in for Ben Cutting and Mayank Markande.


Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(c), Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Rahul Chahar, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Shane Watson, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina(c), Ambati Rayudu(w), Dhruv Shorey, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir