Chennai will be wary of Bangalore's hitting prowess © IANS (File Photo)
Chennai will be wary of Bangalore’s hitting prowess © IANS (File Photo)


May 18, 2014:


On Sunday, when Chennai Super Kings (CSK) take on Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Ranchi in the 42nd match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014, the home team will look for the win which will ensure their spot in this edition’s playoffs. On the other hand, placed in sixth position, RCB will be looking for a win themselves, but to stay alive in the competition. Catch the live blog of the match here.


Chennai, as usual, have been in superb form in all departments this season as well. Their top-order has provided them the platform for big scores. Their lower middle-order has finished matches clinically. And their bowlers haven’t been left out of the party. On the other hand, Bangalore haven’t had a typical season where their star batsmen make merry and a lot of runs. Their main batsmen in the form of Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli have struggled badly. AB de Villiers has been brilliant in spurts, but the brightest spot has been the return to form of Yuvraj Singh.




Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Francois du Plessis, Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, Ben Hilfenhaus, John Hastings, Samuel Badree, Matt Henry, Mithun Manhas, Vijay Shankar, Ronit More, Baba Aparajith, Pawan Negi.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (c), Chris Gayle, Parthiv Patel (wk), Yuvraj Singh, AB de Villiers, Albie Morkel, Muttiah Muralitharan, Mitchell Starc, Ravi Rampaul, Vijay Zol, Sachin Rana, Yogesh Takawale, Nic Maddinson, Sandeep Warrier, Tanmay Mishra, Harshal Patel, Shadab Jakati, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Ashok Dinda, Varun Aaron, Yuzvendra Chahal.


Catch live score and ball-by-ball commentary of the match here


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage