Daredevils School Cup 2013:

Abhay Chauhan scored a half-century for Delhi Public School © Getty Images

New Delhi: Oct 14, 2013

Skipper Abhay Chauhan’s patient unbeaten 54 helped Delhi Public School, Greater Noida, defeat Delhi Scottish School by seven wickets with eight deliveries to spare in an intensely fought Group J match in the Daredevils School Cup T20 cricket tournament at the picturesque Greater Noida Authority Cricket ground Monday.

Opting to bat first, Delhi Scottish posted a challenging score of 112 for four in 20 overs, with the top three batsmen chipping in with useful scores. The left-handed Chauhan’s half-century was the cornerstone around which DPS secured its victory against some steady and energetic fielding by Delhi Scottish.

In a Group E match at the Air Force Cricket ground in Palam, a brave all-round show by Honey Jeet was not enough for Ryan International School, Vasant Kunj, as it fell short of the target set by Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan by 15 runs.

Shashank Kohli (30), skipper Karan Rawat (40) and Shourya Parihar (25) were instrumental in ensuring that Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan got to 118 for two in the 16th over but Honey Jeet and skipper Akshay Solanki stopped the batting side from finishing well.

Chasing 136 for victory, Ryan International School did not recover from the early fall of openers Shailabh Suri and Akshay Solanki. Jaskaran Singh made a valiant 48 and Honey Jeet came up with some fireworks but that was never going to be adequate to take the team to victory.

Ganga International Schol (Group B), Modern School, Barakhamba Road (Group D) and Bhavans International School (Group K) have qualified for the knockout stage by topping their respective league pools.


Group E: Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan 136 for 7 in 20 overs (Shashank Kohli 30, Karan Rawat 40, Shourya Parihar 25, Honey Jeet 4 for 18, Akshay Solanki 2 for 8) beat Ryan International School 121 for 5 in 20 overs (Jaskaran Singh 48, Honey Jeet 20*, Harshul Ahuja 2 for 25).

Group F: Vishwa Bharati Public School 78 in 19.1 overs (Shourya Chaudhry 33, Lakshay Sharma 3 for 26, Subhav Gupta 2 for 10, Tushar Churmani 3 for 15) lost to Amity International School 82 for 5 in 15.5 overs (Ayush Mangal 21, Shourya Chaudhry 2 for 13).

Group J: Delhi Scottish School 112 for four in 20 overs (Abhishek Bhati 22, Sachin Chaudhry 28, Subin Hoon 29, Shubham Bansal two for 20) lost to Delhi Public School 113 for 3 in 18.4 overs (Abhay Chauhan 54*). Daredevil of the Match: Abhay Chauhan.

Group N: Gyan Bharati School 90 in 17 overs (Vishal Sharma two for 13) lost to Laxman Public School 93 for two in 15.4 overs (Rishabh Pratap Singh 22 notout, Kapil Chauhan 30 not out). Daredevil of the Match: Kapil Chauhan.