Daredevils School Cup 2013: Madhav Kaushik scores 2nd century for Modern School

Madhav Kaushik’s 106 included 11 boundaries and six sixes © AFP (Representative Picture)

New Delhi: Oct 9, 2013

Madhav Kaushik slammed his second successive century for Modern School, Barakhamba Road, in the Daredevils School Cup T20 cricket tournament at the Air Force Cricket Ground in Palam on Wednesday.

His 106 (53 balls, 11 fours, six sixes) complemented by a stunning haul of four wickets for just one run by Shashwat Kohli saw the team post a 169-run victory over Don Bosco Public School in a Group D game.

Kaushik followed up Monday’s 102 against St Mary’s Public School, Neb Sarai, with a fine display of batting. He shared a 64-run stand with Abhishek Goswami (50, 37 balls, six fours, one six) for the second wicket and dominated the 105-run third wicket partnership with Swapnil Bisht (18 not out).

Chasing 207 for victory, Don Bosco’s batting collapsed against the sustained bowling of Sarang Rawat , who claimed two wickets in the first over, and Shashwat Kohli who struck twice each in his second and third overs to finish with figures of four for one in 2.5 overs as Modern School became the first team to qualify for the knockout stage.

Since St Sophia’s Senior Secondary School was disqualified by the organising committee for not complying with the tournament regulations, the group K match between Air Force Bal Bharati School and St Mary’s Public School, Dwarka, became a virtual knockout battle for the second spot in the group behind Bal Bhavan International School, Dwarka.

Ayush Lajpal’s four-wicket haul starred in Air Force Bal Bharati School’s seven-wicket victory. Though Kevin Jordan carried his bat through the innings in making a defiant 27 (58 balls, two fours), St Mary’s Public School could only post 70 for eight in 20 overs. Air Force Bal Bharati needed just 12.4 overs to get to the target and take second place in the group.

Brief scores:

Group D: Modern School, Barakhamba Road, 206 for 5 in 20 overs (Abhishekh Goswami 50, Madhav Kaushik 106, Mrinal Rawat 4 for 23) beat Don Bosco Public School 39 in 11.5 overs (Sarang Rawat 3 for 11, Shashwat Kohli 4 for 1).

Group D: Delhi Public School, Vasant Kunj, 118 for 1 in 20 overs (Rishabh Drall 58*, Manish Tehlan 39*) beat St Mary’s Public School, Neb Sarai, 46 in 19.2 overs (Manish Tehlan 2 for 11, Dhruv Sahgal 2 for 2).

Group K: St Mary’s Public School, Dwarka, 70 for 8 in 20 overs (Kevin Jordna 27*, Ayush Lajpal 4 for 6, Anirudh Shukla 2 for 13) lost to Air Force Bal Bharati School 73 for 3 in 12.4 overs.