David Warner dropped from Australian ODI squad; Mitchell Starc out with sore back

David Warner scored a 42-ball 53 against England in the second T20I on Saturday © Getty Images

Sep 1, 2013

David Warner has been dropped from the Australian squad for the One-Day International (ODI) series against Scotland and England. Mitchell Starc has been omitted due to soreness in his lower back.

Australia’s first match is against Scotland in Edinburgh on September 3. Commenting on Warner’s exclusion, Australia coach Darren Lehmann said, “David has been left out of the Australian ODI squad for this tour purely due to his recent lack of form in this format. By his own admission, David would acknowledge that unfortunately he hasn’t scored the weight of runs that he would like recently in one-day cricket for his country.”

“Like all selection matters, it was a tough decision, but like all players he understands the situation and knows he needs to get back to playing RYOBI Cup and making a heap of runs that we can’t ignore. I spoke with David at length about what he needs to do and I’ve been impressed with his attitude since I’ve come into the Australian setup,” said Lehmann as reported by the official website of Cricket Australia (CA).

Warner scored a 42-ball 53 against England in the second Twenty20 International at Chester-le-Street on August 31. But he could not prevent England from winning the match by 27 runs and leveling the series 1-1.

Team doctor Peter Brukner explained why left-arm fast bowler Starc was sent back to Australia. “Mitchell reported some lower back pain in recent days so we have decided it’s best for him to return to Australia for further assessment and investigation.”

After the match against Scotland, Australia play a five-match ODI series against England starting on September 6 at Headingley, Leeds. Michael Clarke will captain the ODI team.

Australian ODI squad: Michael Clarke (c), George Bailey, Aaron Finch, Phil Hughes, Shaun Marsh, Shane Watson, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Fawad Ahmed.