Deccan Chargers win toss, elect to bowl against Kings XI Punjab

Deccan Chargers is presently languishing at the bottom of the team standings with just five points AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Hyderabad: May 8, 2012

Deccan Chargers (DC) captain Kumar Sangakkara wins toss and elects to bowl first against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the 53rd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012.

Abhishek Jhunjhunwala has been included in the team as Dale Steyn has been ruled out due to an injury. Adam Gilchrist is out of the KXIP team as David Miller is included in the playing XI.

Virtually out of the reckoning for a place in the plays offs, a demoralised Deccan Chargers would look to salvage some pride when they take on Kings XI Punjab in an Indian Premier League match on Tuesday.

Having won just two out of the 11 matches they played so far in the tournament, Deccan is presently languishing at the bottom of the team standings with just five points.

Though Deccan batsmen put up an impressive show against Royal Challengers Bangalore on Sunday, the lacklustre performance of their bowlers and AB de Villiers superlative batting poured cold water on the Hyderabad outfit’s hope of staging a comeback.


DC: Daniel Harris, Shikhar Dhawan, Parthiv Patel (wk), Cameron White, Kumar Sangakkara (c), Akshath Reddy, Ashish Reddy, Amit Mishra, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Veer Pratap Singh, Juan Theron.

KXIP: Nitin Saini (wk), Mandeep Singh, Shaun Marsh, David Hussey (c), Azhar Mahmood, David Miller, Siddharta Chitnis, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, Parvinder Awana, Ramesh Powar.

Catch the live score & ball-by-ball commentary of the 53rd IPL match between DC & KXIP here