Intent to do well can overpower the giants and that is the mantra Delhi Daredevils (DD) will follow as they face Mumbai Indians (MI) in match 45 of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017. To be played at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi, the hosts need to win this and all their matches to make it to the playoffs. MI s ticket to the play-offs is, on the contrary, more or less ascertained and a victory in the match will add another feather to their hat on this fruitful journey. This will be the second match of Saturday s double-header. Live cricket score: DD vs MI, match 45, IPL 2017

Be it team balance, be it stand-out heroics MI have provided according to the situation s demand. While Rohit Sharma is among the biggest names in the batting line-up this season, Nitish Rana made full use of the global platform to leave a mark with his performance. This will be a homecoming for Rana, who plays for Delhi in the domestic circuit. With three half-centuries already this season, Rana has become MI s blue-eyed boy. The other blue-eyed boy (in literal sense), Jos Buttler, will strengthen the team s batting furthermore with Kieron Pollard, who from time-to-time has emerged as MI’s saviour. Parthiv Patel and Hardik Pandya, too, have had vital contributions in the top- and lower-order respectively.

DD s batting, which consists mostly of domestic young talents, looks apparently bleak in front of the mighty MI. However, they have given close competition to many of the tournament s big guns, proving their mettle. To combat MI s in-form Rana, DD have two names in Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant, who have been the star for their side. But the biggest problem for DD is their over-dependency on these two. Though Karun Nair and Shreyas Iyer have scored runs so far, inconsistency from the two has hurt Delhi’s fortunes. DD s lower-order, especially Kagiso Rabada, has proven to be exceptionally handy with the bat.

All-rounders play a major role in limited-overs cricket and both the teams boast of quality ones. For MI, Krunal Pandya will be the ace of the pack. The senior of the Pandya brothers has been consistent with both bat and ball, scoring 136 runs and picking up 10 wickets so far. DD s answer to Krunal will be an experienced Chris Morris, who brags of 12 wickets and 154 runs this season.

DD has been one of the strongest bowling sides of IPL 2017 with an unmatchable pace-bowling contingent. The team missed skipper Zaheer Khan in their previous match due to his hamstring injury, which surely seemed to have hampered the equilibrium. However, chances are, Zaheer may come back to the side for their crucial fixture, as he hinted he has recovered.

Morris is fit and Rabada too is expected to play. This will be the last game for the South African duo if picked as they are expected to return home on May 7 for national duties. The DD spinners, Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem and Amit Mishra will have to up their game.

As for MI, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah constitute the pace-attack with Hardik Pandya bowling some occasional overs. For spin bowling, MI have relied upon an in-form Krunal along with Karn Sharma. Harbhajan Singh is fit again and expected to play.

Likely XI:

Delhi Daredevils: Sanju Samson, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Corey Anderson, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Pat Cummins, Shahbaz Nadeem, Zaheer Khan (c) (if available)/ Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra

Karun Nair will lead the side in absence of Zaheer Khan

Mumbai Indians: Parthiv Patel (wk), Jos Buttler, Nitish Rana, Rohit Sharma (c), Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Karn Sharma/ Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah

Story so far: MI have won eight of their ten matches in the tournament and are at the top of the points table with a positive run rate. DD, on the other hand, have won four of their ten games and are at No. 6 spot.

Advantage: With in-form seamers in the side, DD will have the advantage playing at their home ground. MI will be confident sitting atop the points table.


Delhi Daredevils: Zaheer Khan (c), Mohammed Shami, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mayank Agarwal, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Sam Billings (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Chris Morris, Carlos Brathwaite, Karun Nair, Chama Milind, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Pratyush Singh, Aditya Tare (wk), Ankit Bawne, Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Shashank Singh, Corey Anderson, Rishabh Pant (wk)

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Parthiv Patel (wk), Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Jos Buttler, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nitish Rana, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya,Mitchell Johnson, Lendl Simmons, Tim Southee, Vinay Kumar, Saurabh Tiwary, Karn Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Krishnappa Gowtham, Siddhesh Lad, Nicholas Pooran, Shreyas Gopal, Asela Gunaratne, Jitesh Sharma, Deepak Punia, Jagadeesha Suchith, Kulwant Khejroliya

TIME: 14.30 GMT | 20.00 IST