Live Updates

  • 11:40 PM IST

    THATS IT! Kolkata win by 4 wickets. Dinesh Karthik remains unbeaten on 35, this is first win as Kolkata captain.

  • 11:32 PM IST

    OUT! Andre Russell departs for 11-ball 15. Chris Woakes gets his man, Russell trying to go for another big shot. Dinesh Karthik is still out in the middle. Vinay Kumar joins him.

  • 10:56 PM IST

    Kolkata vs Bangalore, Match Updates: Dinesh Karthik and Nitish Rana are important for Kolkata to clinch this match. They have Andre Russell and Rinku Singh in the dugout. Bangalore bowlers are guilty of bowling to many wides, mainly Kulwant Khejroliya.

  • 10:32 PM IST

    OUT! Umesh Yadav gets another one and this time it is Robin Uthappa. Uthappa was done for pace as he mistimes one in the air and McCullum takes it comfortably in the end. Dinesh Karthik in the middle.

  • 10:31 PM IST

    OUT! Robin Uthappa gets beaten for pace. Poor shot by him, Umesh Yadav gets his second wicket. Robin falls for 13 in his 150th Indian T20 League match. Bangalore are still in the hunt.

  • 10:20 PM IST

    OUT! Narine got done by the extra pace of Umesh Yadav who is bowling at some serious pace. He has only conceded 3 runs off his first over picking up the wicket of Narine. Kolkata: 68 for 2 after Powerplay

  • 10:08 PM IST

    The Narine surprise has arrived. He has already smashed 33 off 12 how much more will he score. The lightning fast outfield of Eden Gardens is helping him as well. Uthappa on the other hand is happy to stay off strike. Kolkata: 46 after 4

  • 9:59 PM IST

    OUT! Chris Lynn’s terrible time comes to an end. He missed a few, played a french cut and perished. Chris Woakes gets him playing in the air, ABD takes a simple catch at covers. Robin Uthappa is in the middle.

  • 9:55 PM IST

    Kolkata vs Bangalore, Match Updates: Crackling start from Kolkata. Sunil Narine has already smoked a four and a six, while Chris Lynn is stranded on 1. Important that Bangalore do not let the pair get off to a flier. Chris Woakes could nearly have gotten Lynn’s wicket.

  • 9:36 PM IST

    OUT! Vinay Kumar picks two wickets in two balls, but the damage has been done for Kolkata. They need 177 to win. Mandeep Singh played a handy knock of 37 runs from 18 balls.

  • 9:25 PM IST

    OUT! Sarfaraz Khan’s slow innings comes to an end. He looked to up the ante but handed Rinku Singh a catch at long off. Mitchell Johnson gets his first wicket for Kolkata side.

  • 9:20 PM IST

    Kolkata vs Bangalore, Match Updates: Suddenly the flow of runs has died down. Sarfaraz Khan and Mandeep Singh are finding it difficult to score. Narine will bowl the 17th over, Kuldeep and Johnson have one over each .

  • 9:07 PM IST

    OUT! Rana gets Kohli off the next ball. Unplayable delivery by Rana, that finds its way past Kohli bat and pad. Eden Gardens has erupted with joy. Sarfaraz Khan is joined by Mandeep Singh

  • 9:04 PM IST

    OUT! Nitish Rana comes into the attack and gets rid of AB de Villiers. After getting slammed for a six on the first ball, AB tries to whack him over long off, perishes. He hands a simple catch to Mitchell Johnson for 44.

  • 8:57 PM IST

    Kolkata vs Bangalore, Match Updates: 50 run partnership between Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers. This has been a terrific show by Bangalore batsmen, in particular ABD. Kolkata will need to break this partnership if they have to restrict themselves to a low total.

  • 8:39 PM IST

    Kolkata vs Bangalore, Match Updates: Sunil Narine cleans up Brendon McCullum. He was looking to take the match away from Kolkata’s grasp. AB de Villiers is out in the middle. With him and Kohli on the pitch, Bangalore will look to put on a mammoth run-chase for Kolkata.

  • 8:19 PM IST

    Kolkata vs Bangalore, Match Updates: Virat Kohli and Brendon McCullum are out in the middle looking to steer Bangalore’s innings to safety. Piyush Chawla and Kuldeep Yadav have bowled economically thus far. It will be interesting if Dinesh opts to bring on Narine in the Powerplay.

  • 8:16 PM IST

    Another record for Brendon McCullum. Read more here.

  • 8:09 PM IST

    OUT! Piyush Chawla gets his man, Quinton de Kock depart. Another reverse sweep is the downfall for batsmen. De Kock on the second ball had slammed Chawla for a four. Virat Kolhi is the new man in.

  • 8:04 PM IST
  • 8:01 PM IST

    Kolkata vs Bangalore, Match Updates: Brendon McCullum and Quinton de Kock are out to open for Bangalore. It is a great night for fans present at the Eden Gardens. Vinay Kumar to open the attack for Kolkata. Expect fireworks from ball one.

  • 7:56 PM IST

  • 7:50 PM IST

    Shahrukh Khan is present at the stadium to cheer on his team Kolkata.

  • 7:45 PM IST
    Bangalore XI: Quinton de Kock(wk), Brendon McCullum, Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Washington Sundar, Chris Woakes, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

    Kolkata XI: Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik(wk/c), Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Vinay Kumar, Mitchell Johnson, Kuldeep Yadav
  • 7:37 PM IST

    Karthik: “We are going to bowl first. Looks a good wicket, so we will look to chase down the target. Should be a good contest. Everything’s been good so far touch wood things go well. This is one aspect of captaincy I have to learn. The four overseas are Lynn, Narine, Russell and Johnson.”

  • 7:37 PM IST

    Kohli: “It’s a pretty good wicket and we are looking forward to put some runs on the board. Our four overseas are ABD, McCullum, de Kock and Woakes. For the first time we have a good balance with bat and ball both. This is probably the most balanced RCB side ever.”

  • 7:36 PM IST

  • 7:35 PM IST

    Virat Kohli is playing his 150th Indian T20 League match. Read more here

  • 7:31 PM IST

    TOSS: Dinesh Karthik wins toss, Kolkata to bowl

  • 6:59 PM IST

    Will Dinesh Karthik keep Kolkata’s record at Eden Gardens intact?

Yuzvendra Chahal will be up against Chris Lynn © AFP
Yuzvendra Chahal will be up against Chris Lynn © AFP

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Indian T20 League 2018. Match 3 of the tournament sees Dinesh Karthik’s Kolkata go up against Virat Kohli‘s Bangalore. The match will be played at the iconic Eden Gardens, Kolkata. We will be bringing you the live updates, interesting tweets and stat facts from the cyberspace.

Kolkata are ahead of Bangalore when it comes to head to head record (11:9). Karthik, who is taking over from Gautam Gambhir, will lead Kolkata. It will be interesting to witness how Karthik grooms a team that is filled with inexperienced players like Shubman Gill, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Rinku Singh, Apoorva Wankhade, etc. They still have core players in Robin Uthappa, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn from last editions.

Kohli, who in his arsenal has AB de Villiers, Brendon McCullum, Quinton de Kock, Chris Woakes and Corey Anderson, will marshal Bangalore. Indian stars like Yuzvendra Chahal, Manan Vohra, Sarfaraz Khan and Parthiv Patel will be under pressure to perform well.

Kolkata: Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Robin Uthappa (vc & wk), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Tom Curran, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Johnson, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishank Jaggi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Nitish Rana, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles.

Bangalore: Virat Kohli (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), AB de Villiers (wk), Parthiv Patel (wk), Sarfaraz Khan, Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Collin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manan Vohra, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Mandeep Singh, Washington Sundar, Pawan Nagi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Tim Southee, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande.