KL Rahul, MS Dhoni, R Ashwin
(From left) KL Rahul, MS Dhoni and R Ashwin (AFP Photo)

KXIP won the toss and opted to field against CSK in Match 55 of IPL 2019 on Sunday. KXIP have made one change to their playing XI while CSK are unchanged for what is the penultimate league fixture of the ongoing season.

Playing XIs

KXIP: Chris Gayle, Lokesh Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Mandeep Singh, Sam Curran, Harpreet Brar, Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Andrew Tye, Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami

CSK: Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(wk/captain), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir


Not much is riding on this contest except for the fact that a win would ensure Chennai Super Kings finish the league stage at the top of the IPL 2019 points table. They can lose to Kings XI Punjab in Mohali today and still ensure a top-two finish though provided the defeat of margin isn’t significant.

A top-two finish ensures a team will get two chances to make the final – if they lost the first qualifier. CSK though start as the favourites considering KXIP’s run of four straight defeats in their last four matches. However, as we saw on Saturday night, a team with nothing to lose can pose a danger like Royal Challengers Bangalore did to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

CSK though are through to the playoffs and the only prospect bothering them (or not) will be making sure they finish among the top-two.

My Dream XI Team

Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain), Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wk), Faf du Plessis, Sam Curran (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Murugan Ashwin, Deepak Chahar and Imran Tahir

Kings XI Punjab and Chennai Super Kings Likely Playing XIs:

KXIP: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Mayank Agarwal, 4 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 5 Mandeep Singh, 6 Sam Curran, 7 R Ashwin (capt), 8 Andrew Tye, 9 Mohammed Shami, 10 Murugan Ashwin, 11 Arshdeep Singh

CSK: 1 Shane Watson, 2 Faf du Plessis, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Kedar Jadhav, 5 MS Dhoni (capt/wk), 6 Ambati Rayudu, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Dwayne Bravo, 9 Deepak Chahar, 10 Harbhajan Singh, 11 Imran Tahir

Head to Head (IPL Matches)

Matches played: 21

Won by KXIP: 8

Won by CSK: 13

Form Guide (most recent first)