Baba Indrajith was dismissed exactly for 200    PTI
Baba Indrajith was dismissed exactly for 200 PTI

Reduced to 161 for 7, India Red skipper Dinesh Karthik must have hoped to reach 200. Baba Aparajith s 200 took that to 383 as the India Blue bowlers failed counter the batsman despite their opponents early collapse in Match No. 2 of Duleep Trophy 2017. Before Tea on Day Two at the Green Park Stadium, Kanpur, Samit Gohel and Hanuma Vihari opened for India Blue and remained unbeaten as the team moved to 8 for 0, trailing by 374 runs.

Taking the first innings lead seemed an easy task for India Blue after their bowlers, led by Ankit Rajpoot, ran through India Red s batting line up. However, Indrajith s impenetrable defence caused the turn around, taking his side to 291 for 9 at stumps of the opening day. Indrajith, who was unbeaten at 120, scored 80 more on Thursday, while Vijay Gohil, lent the perfect support Indrajith one could have asked for in the crisis. He stuck to the crease, ending unbeaten at 34. Singles were taken very smartly, as the scorecard will suggest with Gohil scoring only 12 runs in the morning. While he faced maidens, defending the India Blue bowlers to his best to give strike to Indrajith, the latter compensated, hitting out their opponents all around the park. Indrajith s 200 consisted 20 fours and 6 sixes while Gohil his 6 fours. The two batsmen took India Red to a comfortable position and gave their bowlers a lot to defend.

Indrajith and Gohil, on their way to reviving their side, put up a 178-run last wicket partnership which is the highest tenth-wicket stand in Duleep Trophy history. It also is the second-highest tenth wicket partnership on Indian soil, after the 233-run partnership between Ajay Sharma and Maninder Singh in Ranji Trophy 1991-92 season.

It was Manoj Tiwary who finally ended Indrajith s run exactly at 200. Tiwary ended figures of 2 for 30 while Rajpoot remained the most successful of them all with his 3 for 56.

Brief scores:

India Red 291 for 9 (Priyank Panchal 36, Sudip Chatterjee 34, Baba Indrajith 200, Vijay Gohil 34*; Ankit Rajpoot 3 for 56, Jaydev Unadkat 2 for 72, Manoj Tiwary 2 for 30) lead India Blue 9 for 0 (Samit Gohel 8*, Hanuma Vihari 1*; Karn Sharma 0 for 5, Siddarth Kaul 0 for 4) by 374 runs.