A round-up of the Elite A matches in round eight of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.
A round-up of the Elite A matches in round eight of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Pacers Babashafi Pathan scalped five wickets and Lukman Meriwala claimed two as Baroda bundled out Railways for just 89 to register a thumping 180-run win in Round 8 of the Elite Group A Vijay Hazare Trophy at the M Chinnswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday.

Opting to bat, Baroda finished at 269/9 after their 50 overs. Openers Kedar Devdhar (44) and Aditya Waghmode (74 off 99) stitched a solid 88-run stand to lay the foundation for a good innings. Baroda upped the ante for thereon. Krunal Pandya s 67-ball 62 cameo along with Deepak Hooda s 43-ball 54 saw Baroda to a sizeable target. For Railways, Manjeet Chaudhary, picked three for 55 in his 10 overs.

In reply, Railways crumbled under brisk pace from Pathan and Meriwala, who left no room for the opposition batsmen to settle. Both registered stingy economy rates of under four runs. Manish Rao was the only batsman who offered some sort of resistance to the Baroda pace attack. Rao was unbeaten on 23 after a 43-ball stay at the crease.

Brief scores: Baroda 269/9 (Aditya Waghmode 74, Krunal Pandya 62; Manjeet Chaudhary 3/55) beat Railways 89 all out in 24.4 overs (Manush Rao 23*; Babashafi Pathan 5/25, Lukman Meriwala 2/14) by 180 runs

At Alur, Mumbai thrashed Himachal by six wickets. Put into bat, Himachal notched 269/6 after 50 overs. Prashant Chopra (86) was explosive at the start, scoring 10 boundaries during his 99-ball knock. From 100/1 in the 21st over, Himachal slumped to 195-5 in the 39th over. With hardly any noteworthy contributions from the middle order, Rishi Dhawan upped his game with the bat to score an unbeaten 53. For Mumbai, Tushar Deshpande and Shivam Dube claimed two wickets, while Dhawal Kulkarni and Shams Mulani picked one each.

In reply, Suryakumar Yadav s unbeaten century was too hot for Himachal to handle. After losing openers Jay Bista (23) and Akhil Herwadkar (28) early on, Mumbai s experienced batsman Yadav held the innings together with good support from Dube at the other end. Yadav s brisk 103-ball 123 was laced with 16 boundaries and three sixes as Mumbai chased down the target with 33 balls to spare.

Brief scores: Himachal 269/6 (Prashant Chopra 86, Rishi Dhawan 53*; Shivam Dube 2-41) lost to Mumbai 270/4 in 44.3 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 123*; Rishi Dhawan 2-42) by six wickets

At the other ground in Alur, Karnataka won their match against Vidarbha by six wickets. Off-spinner Krishnappa Gowtham and leggie Shreyas Gopal both picked three wickets as Vidarbha were bowled out for 125 in 36.2 overs. Ganesh Satish scored a half century. In reply, Karnataka batsmen made a meal of their run chase. Openers Abishek Reddy (19) and Naveen MG (23) failed to provide the right start. However, thanks to the paltry target, Kaunain Abbas (35*) and Gopal (34) were able to see their side to victory.

Brief scores: Vidarbha 125 all out in 36.2 overs (Ganesh Satish 50; Krishnappa Gowtham 3/34, Shreyas Gopal 3/13) lost to Karnataka (Kaunain Abbas 35, Gopal 34; Ravikumar Thakur 3/22) by six wickets