England opt to field against Australia in 2nd ODI at Old Trafford

Eoin Morgan would like England to maintain their domination over Australia © Getty Images

Sep 8, 2013

England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to field against Australia in the second One-Day International at the Old Trafford on Sunday.

The first One-Day International (ODI) between England and Australia at Headingley was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rain on Friday.

After both the teams won a T20 each, they were looking to carry that form into the ODIs. England rested five  key players and gave opportunity to the youngsters. They came into the match after winning a one-off ODI clash against neighbours Ireland.

Australia, on the other hand, were at full strength with Michael Clarke returning to lead them. They beat Scotland in a one-off ODI coming into the series.


England: Kevin Pietersen, Michael Carberry, Jonathan Trott, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Stokes, James Tredwell, Steven Finn, Boyd Rankin

Australia: Shaun Marsh, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (c), George Bailey, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade (wk), Fawad Ahmed, Mitchell Johnson, James Faulkner, Clint McKay.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the second ODI between England and Australia here