Eoin Morgan is the captain of the side © Getty Images
Eoin Morgan is the captain of the side © Getty Images


May 25, 2014


England have won the toss and have elected to bowl first in the 2nd ODI against Sri Lanka. In the 1st ODI, England won a rain affected match as Sri Lanka were bundled out for a low total. Chris Jordan starred with bat and ball and England will hope for a same performance today as well. Alastair Cook is out with a groin injury and the England side will be lead by Eoin Morgan.


Sri Lanka will be looking for a better performance after losing the first ODI. Angelo Mathews will be leading his side and will be hoping he can fire with the bat and ball. Lasith Malinga and Nuwan Kulasekara will be the leading the bowling line-up. On the other hand experienced players like Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jaywardene will be key in their batting line-up.


Playing XI:

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara(w), Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews(c), Dinesh Chandimal, Ashan Priyanjan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Dhammika Prasad, Lasith Malinga
England: Michael Carberry, Ian Bell, Gary Ballance, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler(w), Chris Jordan, James Tredwell, James Anderson, Harry Gurney