England won Test series against South Africa in January 2016 © Getty Images
England won Test series against South Africa in January 2016 © Getty Images

Steven Finn makes way to England squad for the first Test against Sri Lanka on Thursday at Headingley. He has got the call ahead uncapped Jake Ball for the final place. England have selected 12-man squad and skipper Alastair Cook has named his side 24 hours prior to the match. Sri Lanka and England will play three-tests series at Headingley itself. Steven Finn has played in the Test series against South Africa early on in the year. He was very economical and came in handy at the time of picking wickets at regular intervals. Cook is pleased to have him in 12-man squad and this time they have just restricted to 12 instead of 15 players. Full Cricket Scorecard: England vs Sri Lanka 2016, 1st Test at Headingley

“Steven Finn is going to play,” Cook told reporters at Headingley on Wednesday, as mentioned on AFP.  “He’s been outstanding when he’s been fit for us. I think everyone kind of knew that.” Finn missed the World Twenty20 in India earlier because of calf and side injuries and his Test career has been interrupted by fitness problems. But his record of 113 Test wickets at an average of just over 28 apiece saw him chosen ahead of Ball in the race to be England’s third seamer behind James Anderson and Stuart Broad. ALSO READ: England vs Sri Lanka 2016: Kaushal Silva urges teammates to step up in absence of Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jaywardene

Ball has made a strong start to the county season with Nottinghamshire and Cook said: “It was great to have Jake along and he’s made a big impact this year in county cricket. “It’s great for the guys who haven’t really seen much of him to get to know the guy and he can certainly bowl.” England will though give a debut to James Vince, with the Hampshire batsman filling the vacancy caused by James Taylor’s retirement with a heart condition. England team to play Sri Lanka in the first Test at Headingley starting Thursday:

England Squad:

Alastair Cook (c), Alex Hales, Nick Compton, Joe Root, James Vince, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Moeen Ali, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn, James Anderson