Sri Lanka will be hoping their batsmen have a good series against England. © Getty Images
Sri Lanka will be hoping their batsmen have a good series against England. © Getty Images

England will play host to Sri Lanka in the summer of 2016 as they play 3 Test matches, 5 ODI’s and 1 T20 match between them. The tour will be played between May 19 to July 5 2016. The first Test match will be played at Headingley, Leeds and will lay the foundation of the series. England come into the series as favorites as they play at home and Sri Lanka have struggled especially, in the Test format after the departure of legends Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene. England will eyeing revenge against the Lankans after their defeat in the 2014 home series, which they had lost 0-1 in the final Test. ALSO READ: England vs Sri Lanka 2016, 1st Test at Headingley, Predictions and Preview: Visitors look for a new beginning

The second Test match will be played at Chester-le-Street and will be followed be the 3rd one at Lord’s. The 5-match ODI series will then begin from June 21st with the first ODI at Trent Bridge in Nottingham. The next of them will be played at Edgbaston. The third of the series will be played at Bristol and the remaining 2 games will be played at London and Cardiff respectively.

The lone T20 international between the 2 sides will be played at the Rose Bowl Stadium in Southampton on July 05 as the long tour ends then. Here is the schedule of Sri Lanka’s tour of England:

Date Match Venue Time
May 19-23, 2016 England vs Sri Lanka, 1st Test Headingley, Leeds 3:30 PM IST; 10:00 AM GMT
May 27-31, 2016 England vs Sri Lanka, 2nd Test Riverside Ground,Chester-le-Street 3:30 PM IST; 10:00 AM GMT
June 09-13,2016 England vs Sri Lanka, 3rd Test Lord’s, London 3:30 PM IST; 10:00 AM GMT
June 21, 2016 England vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI Trent Bridge, Nottingham 6:30 PM IST; 1:00 PM GMT
June 24, 2016 England vs Sri Lanka, 2nd ODI Edgbaston, Birmingham 6:30 PM IST; 1:00 PM GMT
June 26, 2016 England vs Sri Lanka, 3rd ODI County Ground, Bristol 3:00 PM IST; 09:30 AM GMT
June 29, 2016 England vs Sri Lanka, 4th ODI Kennington Oval, London 5:30 PM IST; 12 PM GMT
July 02, 2016 England vs Sri Lanka, 5th ODI Sophia Gardens, Cardiff 3:00 PM IST; 9:30 AM GMT
July 05, 2016 England vs Sri Lanka, Only T20 The Rose Bowl, Southampton 11:00 PM IST; 5:30 PM GMT

Angelo Mathews will be captaining the Sri Lankan side whereas Alastair Cook will lead the English side into the series. Sri Lanka’s main strike bowler Dhammika Prasad was ruled out of the first Test due to an injury.