Jonny Bairstow is batting on 107 © Getty Images
Jonny Bairstow is batting on 107 © Getty Images

England and Sri Lanka will square off on the second day of the third and final Test of three-match series on Friday. The venue of the match is Lord’s cricket stadium in London. The match holds less significance for the English team having won the first two Tests comprehensively. But still England will strive hard to win this game and with it complete a clean sweep of the series. On day 1, England won the toss and elected to bat first. Alastair Cook is in sizzling form as he cracked a brilliant 85 hammering nine fours in his innings. He and Alex Hales made a 56-run stand for the first wicket. However, England lost track after the fall of Hales for 18 runs. LIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: England  vs  Sri Lanka , 3rd Test match at Lord’s

Jonny Bairstow, with his late-order flourish scored 107 runs off 164 balls and is still at the crease. When England take to the field today, they will start from 279 for 6, their overnight score yesterday. Bairstow is batting with Chris Woakes at the moment, who has scored 23 runs so far. For Sri Lanka; Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep and Rangana Herath took two wickets each. At a point of time yesterday, it appeared that England would find it difficult to go past 260, but their seventh-wicket stand has bailed them out of trouble. The current partnership is already worth 63, much needed runs for England.

Sri Lanka need to take quick wickets today and dismiss England below 300. This will enable them not give the opposition that psychological advantage of having reached this milestone. Bairstow is batting quite well at the moment and Sri Lanka will be hoping to see his back early on in the day today.


England: Alastair Cook (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jake Ball, Stuart Broad, Nick Compton, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Chris Woakes, James Vince

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (c), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Chaminda Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Dimuth Karunaratne, Suranga Lakmal, Kusal Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Kusal Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Dasun Shanaka, Kaushal Silva, Milinda Siriwardana, Lahiru Thirimanne