ESPN Star Sports named official broadcaster of Bangladesh Premier League

Bangladesh Premier League will be played from February 9-29, and will have one or two matches every day Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Dhaka: Feb 9, 2012

ESPN Star Sports was on Thursday named the official broadcaster of the upcoming Twenty20 league Bangladesh Premier League for a period of three years.

ESPN Star Sports will telecast the tournament across Asia, along with Channel 9, which will broadcast it domestically in Bangladesh, starting in 2012 running through to 2014, reported.

The BPL will feature six teams – Barisal Burners, Chittagong Kings, Khulna Royal Bengals, Sylhet Royals, Dhaka Gladiators and Duronto Rajshahi which will play each other twice in a round-robin format over 33 matches to be played in Chittagong and Dhaka.

ESS director-programming Joyee Biswas said, “As the rights holder for some of the globe s best cricket events including ICC World T20, CL T20, India-Australia test matches, ODI tri-series between Australia, India and Sri Lanka, and England-Australia ODIs, we are pleased to add Bangladesh Premier League to our portfolio of top cricket coverage.”

“As the first GEC channel of Bangladesh with a mix of Sports and Entertainment, and the producer of BPL T20, we are pleased to partner with ESPN STAR Sports to bring BPL to cricket lovers and look forward to a long term relationship,” said Channel 9 managing director Enayetur Rahman.

The tournament will be played from February 9-29, and will have one or two matches every day.

Along with one iconic Bangladesh national cricketer, each team is allowed nine foreign players, five of whom can play per match in one team.