Rohit Sharma    AFP (File Photo)
Rohit Sharma AFP (File Photo)

Chris Gayle had slammed the first hundred in T20 Internationals, back in the 2007 World T20, against South Africa at Johannesburg. Gayle had taken 50 balls to reach his hundred a record that stayed till 2012, when the unheralded Richard Levi took only 45 balls to reach there. The 50-ball mark has been breached several times since, but Levi s record was not broken. That happened in early 2017, when David Miller beat the record by a whopping 10-ball margin, against Bangladesh at Potchefstroom. Miller s record remained unchallenged for several months till Rohit Sharma smashed the Sri Lankans to pulp at Indore, equalling the 35-ball world record. Here is the list of the fastest T20I hundreds.

Balls Batsman Team Against Venue Date
35 David Miller South Africa Bangladesh Potchefstroom October 29, 2017
35 Rohit Sharma India Sri Lanka Indore December 22, 2017
45 Richard Levi South Africa New Zealand Hamilton February 19, 2012
46 Faf du Plessis South Africa West Indies Johannesburg January 11, 2015
46 KL Rahul India West Indies Lauderhill August 27, 2016
47 Aaron Finch Australia England Southampton August 29, 2013
47 Chris Gayle West Indies England Mumbai March 16, 2016
48 Evin Lewis West Indies India Lauderhill August 27, 2016
49 Glenn Maxwell Australia Sri Lanka Pallekele September 6, 2016

Note: At Lauderhill in 2016, Evin Lewis had scored a 48-ball hundred. KL Rahul scored a 46-ball hundred later that day.