The victorious Galle team with the trophy © Sri Lanka Cricket
The victorious Galle team with the trophy © Sri Lanka Cricket

Galle beat Colombo in the final of the Sri Lanka Super Four Provincial Limited-Overs Tournament 2018 at R Premadasa Stadium by 75 runs to clinch the title. The Galle innings of 320 for 7 was set up by a 122-ball 124 from captain Upul Tharanga. He was ably supported by wicketkeeper Sadeera Samarawickrama, whose 62 came off 71 balls. Dasun Shanaka, Chaturanga de Silva, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa then made full use of the slog overs. For Colombo, Lakshan Sandakan picked up 4 for 66.

In response, Shehan Jayasuriya (51 in 40) and Kamindu Mendis (41 in 38) kept Colombo in the hunt. After 12 overs Colombo had reached 88 for 1, but the middle-order never got going. Angelo Perera (40 in 47) and Warindu Hasaranga (31 in 31) scored quickly, but Colombo lost wickets too quickly and were bowled out in the 45th over, for 245. Nishan Peiris and Malinda Pushpakumara got 3 wickets each.

Galle had topped the group stage with 19 points from 6 matches while Colombo had 15. Dambulla (12) and Kandy (6) were the other teams. Galle lost the first match (which was also Kandy’s only win) before remaining unbeaten for the rest of the tournament. The entire tournament was played in Colombo, across Premadasa, P Sara Oval, and Colombo Cricket Club.

Ashan Priyanjan of Dambulla was named Best Batsman of the Tournament for his 279 runs at 55.80 (and a strike rate of 84). Pushpakumara of Galle (15 wickets at 11, economy 3.41) was the Best Bowler. Tharanga won the Man of the Final award for his hundred, while Jayasuriya (326 runs at 54.33, strike rate 110, 7 wickets at 42.85, economy 5) was named Player of the Tournament.

(with inputs from Sri Lanka Cricket)