Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh dropped; India announce Champions Trophy squad

Gautam Gambhir misses out in the 15-member Indian squad for Champions Trophy © Getty Images

Mumbai: May 4, 2013

India have dropped Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh for the upcoming Champions Trophy to be held in England from June 6, 2013. Dinesh Kartik makes a comeback. Fast bowler Umesh Yadav earns a recall after his injury.

Indian selectors picked their 15-member squad for the ICC Champions Trophy on Saturday afternoon in Mumbai. Time and again it has been a thankless job for Indian selectors as they come under constant media scrutiny for the exclusion or inclusion of certain players.

With the exclusion of seasoned campaigners like Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Zaheer Khan from the list, they have already put a step forward in building a new set of players under MS Dhoni.

The list also attracted criticism with the exclusion of Cheteshwar Pujara. The Saurashtra batsman has been in good nick with valuable knocks including a double-century against his name during the recently-concluded Test series against Australia. While the selectors hinted about his knee injury being the reason of exclusion, Pujara had indicated that he would be fit in time to be available for the Champions Trophy. Pujara has to wait for his chance in the ODI team.

 Beginning with the top order, the Opener’s slot has been taken by Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan. Ajinkya Rahane has been excluded from the 15-man squad. Out of the 16 ODI matches he has played for India, 13 of them have been against England with two half-centuries.

The pace department comprises Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar and Irfan Pathan.

In the spin department Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been the go-to option for MS Dhoni in recent matches, Amit Mishra’s heroics in the ongoing Indian Premier League earned him the berth in the team. The leggie registered yet another hat-trick this season and is in the race for the Purple Cap.

The top ranked ODI team will have a lot to prove when they begin their campaign against South Africa in the first match of the ICC Champions Trophy on June 6 as it will be a small step forward in building the team to defend the World Cup in 2015.


MS Dhoni (c&wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik (wk) , Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Vinay Kumar.