Gayle returns as Royal Challengers Bangalore elect to bowl against Kolkata Knight Riders

Royal Bangalore started off their IPL 2012 campaign with a win over Delhi PTI

By CricketCountry Staff

Bangalore: Apr 10, 2012

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have won the toss and elected to bowl against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the tenth match in Bengaluru on Tuesday.

RCB will be boosted by the return of opener Chris Gayle who will be returning who sat out of the last match due to fitness issues.

Led by Daniel Vettori, RCB beat Delhi Daredevils by 20 runs on Saturday and the New Zealander would hope his men would pull off yet another victory to make sure they don’t go haywire after making a good start, which has been the story until last IPL.

On the other hand, after tasting two defeats in a row, Kolkata Knight Riders would look to reverse their fortunes when they play their third match against southern powerhouse RCB.

RCB were impressive against DD, both A B de Villiers and Muttiah Muralitharan starred with bat and ball respectively.

RCB were served well by wily Muralitharan’s three for 25, after de Villiers set it up with a blazing 64 off 42 balls. He hit six fours and two sixes in an innings that gave Bangalore the platform.

On Tuesday, RCB would be hoping to get a rollicking start from Chris Gayle, who sat out due to fitness issues in the last match, and Tillakratane Dilshan.

Virat Kohli, the current toast of Indian cricket, would hope to fire after he had a brief stay at the crease scoring just eight runs.

If given a chance, Cheteshwar Pujara and Saurabh Tiwary, who know the conditions well here, can also make useful contributions.

The rest of the batting too has solid names such as Andrew McDonald, de Villiers, Mayank Agarwal and Vettori apart from a tail which consists of Vinay Kumar, Zaheer Khan and Harshal Vikram Patel, who all have skills to add a few quick runs.

KKR, on the flipside, have failed to capitalise on their good batting and bowling lineup so far. They first lost to Delhi Daredevils in a rain-curtailed game and Rajasthan Royals on Sunday.


RCB: Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Saurabh Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Daniel Vettori (c), AB de Villiers (wk), R Vinay Kumar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Zaheer Khan, Harshal Patel, Muttiah Muralitharan

KKR: Jacques Kallis, Gautam Gambhir (c), Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Laxmi Shukla, Rajat Bhatia, Brett Lee, Iqbal Abdulla, Debabrata Das (wk)

Catch the live score & ball-by-ball commentary of the tenth IPL 2012 match here