Glenn Maxwell © PTI
Glenn Maxwell © PTI


May 25, 2014


Manan Vohra and David Miller were looking good for the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) against the Delhi Daredevils (DD) in match 55 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 7. James Neesham bowled the sixth over of the innings. Manan Vohra, whose strike rate was 50 at the start of the over, hit two boundaries off the first four balls, before the fifth ball went for four leg byes. The final delivery was hit for six more by Vohra, who jumped to 24 off 17 balls.


Mohammad Shami came back for his third over on the trot. He was fast and getting good bounce. He tried to bounce out Miller, but the ball was too short and was a wide. Miller stepped out off the very next ball and hit him for the first six of the match. The final ball of the over was hit for another boundary by Miller as Shami missed his line bowled it on leg stump.


Jaydev Unadkat continued for DD. After a dot ball to begin the over, new man Glenn Maxwell went for a big hit only to be caught by Kevin Pietersen at mid off. The ball bounced more than Maxwell thought it would, but it was not the best shot to play at the time. David Miller came in to bat at the fall of his wicket.


Earlier, Virender Sehwag was dismissed early. Mohammad Shami came on to bowl the third over of the innings, and started with a wide ball. A dot ball followed, before Shami managed to induce a faint edge to the ‘keeper. Shami dug one in short to new man Glenn Maxwell, who got hit on the shoulder right away. Off the last ball, Vohra top-edged one that fell safely.


Mohammad Shami started proceedings for Delhi, and got some awkward bounce right away. Sehwag and Vohra rotated the strike for the first four balls, but Sehwag ended the over with back-to-back boundaries to make it 10 off the first over.


Earlier, Kevin Pietersen was looking solid and got to his first half-century of the season. The innings was equal parts scratchy and majestic, but it was undoubtedly the most vital one for the Daredevils. He was finally dismissed LWB by Rishi Dhawan for 58 off 41 balls. The rest of the line-up followed its usual trend of rolling over without a fight, as Delhi lost their last five wickets for just 24 runs. Eventually, Pietersen’s 58 accounted for over half the runs DD scored in total.


Kevin Pietersen said at the toss that Delhi were looking to finish the campaign on a positive note. Punjab win the toss and elect to bowl, but Pietersen said that the Daredevils would have batted first anyway. Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, and Parwinder Awana came in for Punjab at the expense of Shaun Marsh, Beuran Hendricks and L Balaji, while Murali Vijay, Wayne Parnell and Siddharth Kaul missed out for Delhi.


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage