Allan Border was the skipper of Australia between 1984 and 1994    Getty Images
Allan Border was the skipper of Australia between 1984 and 1994 Getty Images

On July 27, 1955, one of cricket’s greatest ever batsman Allan Border was born. In an international career which lasted 15 years, he amassed 156 Test and 273 One-Day International (ODI) appearances for Australia. Border made his international debut in a Test against England in 1979. Few days later, he made his ODI debut against the very same team. By the time he called time on his international career, he had scored 11,174 runs at an average of 50.56 in Tests, and 6524 runs in ODIs. During his career, he also skippered the national side in 93 Tests and 178 ODIs. Under his leadership, Australia were very successful in ODIs, and even won the 1987 World Cup. ALSO READ: When West Indies were accused of throwing an ODI: The Lloyd vs David Syme & Co. Ltd case

Border was a left-handed batsman who played in the middle-order during the course of his career. As a batsman, he held many records on his own. He still holds the record of most number of consecutive Test appearances, and the most number of appearances as Test captain. Border also held the record of most number of appearances and Test runs for Australia, before they were broken by Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting respectively.

In ODIs, his batting stats weren’t at the similar level to that of Tests, but his captaincy was extremely impressive. He took over the reigns of the side in 1985, and held it till his retirement in 1994. In that time, he led Australia to 107 wins in 178 matches. He also skippered his nation to their first ever World Cup win, and is often regarded to as the catalyst behind his nation’s unprecedented success.

While he was extremely successful as batsman and skipper, he had his fair share of success with the ball as well. His slow left-arm spin earned him 39 scalps in Tests and 73 scalps in ODIs. His contribution to Australian cricket was hugely appreciated after his retirement. The Allan Border medal, given to Australia’s cricketer of the year, was named after him. Also, the India-Australia series have since been named Border-Gavaskar Trophy.