MS Dhoni retired from Test cricket in 2014, but continues to lead India in limited-overs format    AFP
MS Dhoni retired from Test cricket in 2014, but continues to lead India in limited-overs format AFP

Born July 7, 1981, India s most famous and successful captain across formats, MS Dhoni celebrates his 35th birthday on Thursday. Having retired from Test cricket at the end of 2014, Dhoni continues to lead India in the limited-overs formats. Dhoni is not only India s most successful captain in history, but he is the only captain in international cricket to have won all three ICC tournaments. Under Dhoni, India became world No. 1 in Test cricket 2008, a year after they won the inaugural ICC T20 World Cup 2007 in South Africa. In 2011, Dhoni s side became the first in history to lift the 50-over World Cup at home, when they defeated Sri Lanka in the final at Mumbai. ALSO READ: MS Dhoni the hero, the villain

In 2013, Dhoni created history when his side pipped England in a rain-truncated final of the ICC Champions Trophy at Lord s, as he became the first captain to win all three ICC trophies that are there on offer. Dhoni retired as India s most successful captain in Test cricket. He played 90 Tests, captained India in 60. His side won a record 27 under Dhoni, and also lost a significant numbers. However, the total of lost Tests got a massive spike when India were blanked 0-4 in both England and Australia in 2011-12.

In ODIs, Dhoni again led India in a record 194 matches. India won 107 their only achievement in triple figures under a captain. Perhaps the most famous win for India under Dhoni was in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. Known for his exploits in short formats of cricket, Dhoni is once again a record-maker in T20 Internationals (T20Is). Dhoni has so far led India in a record 70 T20Is, and has the most number of wins (41). ALSO READ: MS Dhoni needs to find suitable successor for the finishers role in Team India

In the Indian Premier League (IPL), Dhoni played for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) till 2015, following which the franchise was handed a two-year suspension. He won the IPL twice with CSK, in 2010 and 2011. With Dhoni as their captain, Chennai also won the now-defunct Champions League T20 (CLT20) in 2010 and 2014. In IPL 2016, Dhoni captained the Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS).