Babar Hayat celebrates after his century in Asia Cup 2016. Photo Courtesy: Twitter, @samurai_sports
Babar Hayat celebrates after his century in Asia Cup 2016. Photo Courtesy: Twitter, @samurai_sports

The ICC World T20 2016 start off with the First Round match of Group B between Hong Kong and Zimbabwe at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur on Tuesday. The associate nations have been distributed among two groups, namely Group A and Group B, to play the First Round matches of the ICC major tournament. While Group A consists of Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands and Oman while Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Scotland and Zimbabwe have been put in Group B. The teams will play one match each with the rest of the group members and the table toppers of both the group will qualify for the Super 10 round to join the top 8 nations. Live Cricket Scorecard, Hong Kong vs Zimbabwe, 1st T20 Match, Group B, ICC World T20 2016 at Nagpur

Hong Kong have so far displayed good cricket in their last played tournament, i.e., the Asia Cup 2016. The team failed to qualify for the main matches but individual performances of the players in the qualifiers have been phenomenal. The best performance was undoubtedly put up by Babar Hayat who scored 122 off 60. It was the highest individual score as well as the only century of the tournament. He remained the highest scorer of the tournament with 194 runs leaving behind the likes of Virat Kohli and Sabbir Rahman. The two bowlers who have bagged the most number of wickets for the team are Nadeem Ahmed and Aizaz Khan. Live Cricket Updates, Hong Kong v Zimbabwe, ICC World T20 2016 HK vs ZIM, 1st T20 Match, Group B at Nagpur

Zimababwe, on the other hand, have also been in a very good form as far as Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) are concerned. Though they were defeated by Afghanistan, the team made a comeback with their performance in the Bangladesh tour, drawing the 4-match T20I series. Zimbabwe T20I skipper Hamilton Masakadza are their most dependable option with the bat as he is currently enjoying one of the peak periods of his career. Hamilton became the first Zimababwe player to reach 1000 runs in T20Is and has the most runs as a Zimababwe cricketer in the format. He also scored an unbeaten 162, the second highest individual score in any T20 match after Chris Gayle’s 175 in Indian Premier League (IPL). Apart from Hmailton, the team has strengths such as Vusi Sibanda with the bat and Graeme Cremer and Malcolm Waller as bowling all-rounders.


Hong Kong: Tanwir Afzal(c), Aizaz Khan, Anshuman Rath, Jamie Atkinson(wk), Babar Hayat, Ryan Campbell, Christopher Carter(wk), Mark Chapman, Haseeb Amjad, Adil Mehmood, Nadeem Ahmed, Nizakat Khan, Kinchit Shah, Waqas Barkat, Waqas Khan

Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza(c), Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Wellington Masakadza, Peter Moor, Tawanda Mupariwa, Richmond Mutumbami(wk), Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams