Sohail Tanvir will be captaining Pakistan in Hong Kong World Sixes    Getty Images
Sohail Tanvir will be captaining Pakistan in Hong Kong World Sixes Getty Images

Hong Kong World Sixes is back with its latest edition that will go underway from October 28. The two-day tournament will be held at Kowloon Cricket Club, its traditional venue. The tournament has not been played for past three years either due to financial constrains or not making an MEF application by Hong Kong Cricket Association (HKCA) on time. The first teams to have confirmed to play (alongside Hong Kong, of course) in the eight-team tournament are Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand Kiwis, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and South Africa. History will also be made with the MCC taking part for the first time as part of their initiative to grow the game in China. The remaining participating teams are yet to be announced.

The tournament has been played since 1992. South Africa are the defending champions. They beat Pakistan in the final. Umar Akmal was the leading run-scorer, with 201 runs. He was named Man of the Tournament. He was also Man of the Tournament in 2011.

Successful teams: Pakistan and England have traditionally been the most successful teams of Hong Kong Super Sixes, winning it 5 times each. South Africa have won the title 4 times.

Fixture: Group A comprises of Hong Kong, South Africa, Pakistan and MCC. Group B, on the other hand, will feature Australia, New Zealand Kiwis, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Here are the fixtures for the upcoming tournament:

28th October (Group Stage)
Time Match Pool
08:00-08:45 Hong Kong vs South Africa A
08:45-09:30 Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka B
09:30-10:15 Pakistan vs Hong Kong A
10:15-11:00 Australia vs Sri Lanka B
11:00-11:45 MCC vs South Africa A
11:45-12:30 New Zealand Kiwis vs Bangladesh B
12:30-13:15 Hong Kong vs MCC A
13:15-14:00 New Zealand Kiwis vs Sri Lanka B
14:00-14:45 South Africa vs Pakistan A
14:45-15:30 Bangladesh vs Australia B
15:30-16:15 MCC vs Pakistan A
16:15-17:00 New Zealand Kiwis vs Australia B
29th October (Final)
Time Match Pool
08:00-08:45 Hong Kong vs Dragons
08:45-09:30 1 vs 8
09:30-10:15 2 vs 7
10:15-11:00 3 vs 6
11:00-11:45 4 vs 5
11:45-12:30 Cup Semi 1
12:30-13:15 Plate Semi 1
13:15-14:00 Cup Semi 2
14:00-14:45 Plate Semi 2
14:45-15:30 3rd Place Playoff
15:30-16:15 Plate Final 6 overs
16:15-17:00 Cup Final 8 overs

Squads: As always, each team consists of just seven players. Australia will be captained by John Hastings, who recently announced retirement from international cricket. Babar Hayat will continue to lead Hong Kong while Bangladesh will be lead by Saif Hasan. Sohail Tanvir has been named captain for Pakistan while MCC will be headed by Samit Patel. Farveez Maharoof and Sarel Erwee will be seen captaining Sri Lanka and South Africa respectively.


Australia: John Hastings (c), Ben Laughlin, Arjun Nair, Nathan Reardon, Alexander Gregory, Matthew Short, Sebastian Gotch.

Bangladesh: Saif Hasan (c), Afif Hossain, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Monirul Islam, Robiul Haque, Qazi Onik Islam, Damien Wright.

Hong Kong: Babar Hayat (c), Nizakat Khan, Aizaz Khan, Ehsan Khan, Ehsan Nawaz, Jamie Atkinson, Tanveer Ahmed.

MCC: Samit Patel (c), Jordan Clark, Gareth Berg, Darren Stevens, John Simpson, Rikki Clarke, Ryan Higgins.

New Zealand Kiwis: Peter Fulton (c), Shanan Stewart, Ronnie Hira, Brad Cachopa, Graeme Beghin, Elliott Herd, Steve Wilkins.

Pakistan: Sohail Tanvir (c), Sohail Khan, Jahid Ali, Mohammad Sami, Anwar Ali, Hammad Azam, Sahibzada Farhan.

South Africa: Sarel Erwee (c), Aubrey Swanepoel, Corne Dry, Jerry Nqolo, Somila Seyibokwe, Ferisco Adams, Farhaan Sayanwala.

Sri Lanka: Farveez Maharoof (c) , Jeevan Mendis, Andy Solomans, Tillakaratne Sampath, Angelo Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ramith Rambukwella.