Virat Kohli © Getty Images
Virat Kohli © Getty Images

Team India are battling tough times in South Africa. Already down 0-2, India run the risk of being whitewashed. However, ICC Awards 2017 brought in some good news to the Indian camp. Not that it will help them salvage pride in the upcoming Johannesburg Test but this gives them the opportunity to reflect the glorious 2017 and draw inspiration for the same.

Leading the way is captain Virat Kohli, who not only bagged the ODI Cricketer of the Year but also became the fourth Indian to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year. The other India winners are Rahul Dravid (2004), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Ravichandran Ashwin (2016).

ICC honour Virat Kohli with Garfield Sobers Cricketer of the Year 2017 Trophy
ICC honour Virat Kohli with Garfield Sobers Cricketer of the Year 2017 Trophy

Kohli was the named the captain of both, ODI and Test teams of 2017. His Australian counterpart Steven Smith won the award for Test Cricketer of the Year.

Other Indians to be recognised were Yuzvendra Chahal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah.

ICC Awards 2017, Complete List

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year:  Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Steven Smith (Australia)

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Hasan Ali (Pakistan)

ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

ICC Men’s T20I Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal (6-25 v England for India)

ICC Spirit of Cricket: Anya Shrubsole (England)

ICC Fans Moment of the Year: Pakistan winning the Champions Trophy

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2017: Dean Elgar (South Africa), David Warner (Australia), Virat Kohli (c) (India), Steve Smith, (Australia), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Ben Stokes (England), Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), James Anderson (England).

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2017: David Warner (Australia), Rohit Sharma (India), Virat Kohli (c) (India), Babar Azam (Pakistan), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa), Ben Stokes (England), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Hasan Ali (Pakistan), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Jasprit Bumrah (India).