Virat1 (1)

Virat Kohli has carried forward India s rich legacy of winning the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. Kohli was named as ICC Cricketer of the year in the recent ICC Awards 2017. Ravichandran Ashwin was the last recipient of the award in 2016. Kohli edged past the likes of Steven Smith, Kane Williamson and James Anderson amongst other to stake claim at being called the best.

Kohli with this becomes the fourth Indian player after Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Ashwin to win the ICC Cricket of the Year award. He was also named the ICC ODI player of the year. His average in ODIs in 2017 was an astounding 78.84. In Test cricket, Kohli was just a few decimals behind eventual winner Steven Smith. Kohli scored 2,203 Test runs including eight centuries, 1,818 ODI runs at 82.63 including seven centuries, and 299 T20I runs during ICC’s qualification period.

Kohli was also named as captains for both ICC Test and ODI teams of the year. This is the second consecutive time that Kohli has been named captain of ICC ODI team of the year.