ICC Champions Trophy 2013: Australia win toss, elect to bat against New Zealand

Shane Watson will be the key at the top of the order for Australia © Getty Images

Birmingham: Jun 12, 2013

Australian skipper George Bailey won the toss and elected to bat against Brendon McCullum-led New Zealand in a Group A match of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 at Birmingham on Wednesday.

Australia will be without David Warner who was dropped for allegedly getting involved in an alcohol-related incident on Sunday.

After their meek surrender against England in their opening game, a struggling Australia will have to work on
their batting frailties when they take on a confident New Zealand.

Australia, sans their regular skipper Michael Clarke, proved to be no match to the English side as they suffered a huge 48-run defeat to start their campaign on a wrong foot.

With Clarke ruled out of the match against New Zealand, it will be a big test for the stand-in skipper George Bailey to turn Australia’s fortune around.

(With inputs from PTI)


Australia:  Shane Watson, Matthew Wade (wk), Phil Hughes, George Bailey (c), Adam Voges, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty

New Zealand: Luke Ronchi (wk), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (c), James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan

Catch Live score and ball by ball updates of the match between Australia and New Zealand here