ICC Champions Trophy 2013: South Africa win toss, elect to bowl

South Africa will be playing without Dale Steyn in their opening match against India at Cardiff © Getty Images

Cardiff: Jun 6, 2013

India will lock horns with South Africa in the first match of Group B encounter at Cardiff. After winning the toss South Africa will bowl. The conditions are overcast. South Africa are without Dale Steyn. Colin Ingram will open the batting for them.

Captain MS Dhoni had a few selection headaches. Dinesh Karthik scored consecutive centuries in the warm-up matches. With Ravindra Jadeja playing as the all-rounder at number seven, Dhoni can picked six specialist batsmen. India have dropped Murali Vijay. Rohit Sharma will open the batting.

India are placed in the Group B which has Pakistan and West Indies in it. It is termed as ‘Group of Death’ and it is imperative that the teams win each and every match.

India head into this game with the confidence of two victories in the warm-ups. While their bowling was a concern after they conceded a big score against Sri Lanka, their brilliant performance against Australia would do wonders to their confidence. The batting has been good in both games, although there was a stutter in the second warm-up.


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, AB de Villiers (c & wk), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, JP Duminy, Ryan McClaren, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

For live cricket score and ball-by-ball commentary between India and South Africa click here