Sarfraz Ahmed will lead Pakistan in ICC Champions Trophy 2017    Getty Images
Sarfraz Ahmed will lead Pakistan in ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Getty Images

Pakistan selectors on Tuesday announced a 15-man squad for Champions Trophy 2017 to be played in England, starting June 2. Sarfraz Ahmed has been named the captain of the team. Team s mainstay like Azhar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik have been included in the squad while among the youngsters, Fahim Ashraf and Shadab Khan make it to the 15. Pakistan will play two warm-up matches with Bangladesh and Australia prior to the tournament and will start their journey with their first match against arch-rivals India on June 4. They will be competing with South Africa and Sri Lanka apart from India, put in Group B. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: India vs Pakistan, Match 4

While Kamran Akmal missed out of the squad due to his poor performance of late, brother Umar Akmal was given a nod. Earlier, Inzamam ul Haq had said that the selectors would observe the players well before taking any call about their inclusion. We are planning to wait a few more days before announcing the final squad for the Champions Trophy as we want to observe some players performances in the ongoing domestic one-day cup. Aamer Yamin and a few others players are performing well in this cup, and it will be unfair on them if we announce the team early. April 25 is the last day to submit the final squad to the ICC and we will announce the squad before that, Inzamam had told Tribune.

Here is Pakistan s 15-man squad for Champions Trophy 2017: Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Fahim Ashraf, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Shadab Khan