Lasith Malinga's last appearance for Lanka in an One-Day International (ODI) was back in November 2015    AFP (File Photo)
Lasith Malinga’s last appearance for Lanka in an One-Day International (ODI) was back in November 2015 AFP (File Photo)

Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga has been named in the 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2017, slated to be held in England from June 1. Malinga’s last appearance for Sri Lanka in an One-Day International (ODI) was back in November 2015. Sri Lankan skipper Angelo Mathews too has been named in the side, after he missed out the ODI series in South Africa earlier in 2017, the Australia tour, and also the home series against Bangladesh, owing to a hamstring injury. Chamara Kapugedera too earns a recall to the side after being missing out of action since January 2016. Meanwhile, Upul Tharanga has been named the vice-captain of the side. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Sri Lanka vs South Africa, ICC Champions Trophy 2017, Match 3 at The Oval

Malinga’s place in the side was also doubtful, as he was undergoing rehabilitation for a knee injury, which he suffered back in November 2015. Malinga had just played a game in 2016, during the Asia Cup T20 2016, while he had to pull out of the ICC World Twenty20 (T20) 2016, held in India. Although he returned to action in September 2016, he was cautious, keeping in mind that the injury could aggravate. It was a mild dengue which delayed his return to international cricket, while it was in early 2017, when he returned to international action during the Twenty20 Internationals (T20I) in Australia. ALSO READ: Anderson, McClenaghan and Milne return for ICC Champions Trophy

As reported by ESPNCricinfo, among the standby players for the Champions Trophy, Dilruwan Perera and Danushka Gunathilaka are in the list. As for the substitutes on standby, Vikum Sanjaya, Lahiru Kumara, Sachith Pathirana, Milinda Siriwardana and Akila Dananjaya make the list. Sri Lanka play their opening game of the tournament against South Africa on June 3 at The Oval.

Sri Lanka squad: Angelo Mathews (c), Upul Tharanga (vc), Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Nuwan Kulasekera, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna.